top of page
John Sciera Service Award

The NYSATA added a Service Recognition Award that will recognize members and supporters of the association for their service and/or outstanding contribution to the profession of athletic training in New York State. Nominees must have demonstrated dedication, loyalty and service to the profession of athletic training and the NYSATA. Their contributions may have directly or indirectly impacted all members of the NYSATA. Nominees must be a member of the NYSATA or sponsored and nominated by NYSATA with a minimum of 5 years working in New York State.

The award has been named after the long time Head Athletic Trainer at SUNY Cortland, John Sciera. John founded NYSATA in 1976 and served as the first president. John’s landmark efforts were in quest of licensure for Athletic Trainers in New York State. He is a National Athletic Trainers’ Association Hall of Fame member, NYSATA Hall of Fame member, a recipient of the Cramer Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award, and a member of the Cortland State University Hall of Fame.

Sciera Award Winners
2022 - Jarett Rhoads

2021 - Aimee Brunelle

2020 - Craig LoNigro

2019 - Chris Hobler

2018 - Bob O'Malley

2014 – Kristy Hart

2012 – Paul Lasinski

2008 – Glenn Marinelli

2007 – David Gatta

2006 – Stu Balter

2005 – Deanna Errico

bottom of page